Thursday, September 10, 2015

Sag Driver Adventures

Hello everyone.  Yes I am here too!  Due to limited hours and locations for wifi we can't always make a post.

I'm able to drive the Renault Kangoo without difficulty.  I was following Art along the routes in France and we will post some of my pictures later.  There were luckily places for me to pull over and wait for Art and to let other cars go by.  Some of the time the roads were wide enough for one car only.... luckily I didn't encounter cars on those sections.  The weather has been very nice 60's to 80's.  I am a rookie Sag Driver, I lacked confidence to hand him the bottles of water while he was riding...the roads were too windy and narrow!  He wanted what is called a sticky bottle, this is when a rider holds on the the bottle and lets the car pull him along for a bit!  It is cheating.  I guess I figured he shouldn't cheat because he has these lofty goals on these rides so he should not have help!!!

9/8 was a travel day.  We had some tunnels to drive through and one was through Mt. Blanc...toll was $43.50 euros;  then we had another of $38 euros.....unexpectedly pricey.  We were caught in a late afternoon traffic jam getting to Bergamo.

9/9 was sight seeing in Bergamo, the ancient walled city.  Every night at 10:00 the church bell in the walled city is rung 100 times (automated).  We are on the other side of a hill from it; so unless we were outside listening we can't hear it.    I did a whole lot of walking with the crutches.... I was pooped last night.  Lots of cobblestones, hills and uneven walkways.  It would have been impossible to use the wheelchair.  What I find strange is pedestrians nearly run me over as if they don't see the crutches or they just don't care!  Very strange.  Must be a cultural thing in France and Italy.  However, I have seen a few folks on crutches here in Italy but not at all in France.

Dinner time is always difficult.  We have had some suggestions the B&B folks but some days one restaurant is open and the other is not.  The driving through this area of Italy is totally nuts.  I need a sedative or a blindfold as a passenger!  Or a strong drink, but they have weird customs at some restaurants you cannot have any hard alcohol until 10:00 at night.  Last night I wanted a White Russian before dinner but that was a no no.... the waitress was shocked.

Luckily Art just drives like the locals; you have to be aggressive and quick.  I prefer the country driving.  So today 9/10 I am resting my body and my nerves at the B&B.  I will spend the day reading, resting, meditating and enjoying the lovely surroundings. We have two flights of stairs to the room but they are wider and easier than our first hotel. We were the only guests here the first night but last night a couple from Germany arrived.  Art is on his own today on a Bergamo Grand Fondo Route.  He should return in the late afternoon if all is well.  He is brave!!  The hardest part is getting out of the busy city and onto the route without being run over.

We will post pictures of the adventurous driveway leading to the B&B!  The mirrors of the vehicle fold in and we barely fit between two walls to start up the driveway to the B&B.  I get out of the car to give Art directions so he can squeek through.  The garbage truck was here yesterday and he had no issues.  He just went through like it was nothing!!






No comments:

Post a Comment