Friday, June 25, 2010

Yes I did. . .

Lose my credit card, that is. I last reported that I thought I'd lost it, then found it in my other pocket.

After originally discovering the card was missing, we pulled over to a pay phone to call Cap 1 and cancel the card. I asked Linda for her Cap 1 card so I could call the number on the back. I went to the phone, tried to use it and realized I needed a coin to make it run (I think it did, anyway--I couldn't make it work so I figured it needed a coin).

I went back to Linda in the car and asked for some change. She gave me a handful and I put it in my pocket. I started back to the phone, thought of something else to ask Linda so went back to the car, then finally headed for the phone. As I walked to the phone, I reached into my right pocket (I keep everything in my left pocket) and I pulled out a Capital 1 card! Crisis averted, right?

Next morning, Linda asked me what happened to her Cap 1 card. It immediately dawned on me that the card I'd pulled out of my pocket was Linda's card. In the 2 minutes between the time she gave me her card, and I turned for change and a question, I forgot she'd given it to me.

It's a bear growing old.

Canceled the cards without any issues--it hadn't been used or anything untowards like that. I've left a memento in Italy, at the ferry desk in Bellaggio, Italy.

No comments:

Post a Comment